Seitan? More like Satan!
While watching an episode of Friday Night Lights I learned about a foodstuff I had never heard of before. Probably because I am not and never will be a vegetarian!
Who knew there was something called Seitan which apparently is 'wheat meat' but has never been near an animal. This wheat meat seems to be pure gluten.
Knowing the digestive problems gluten can cause in small quantities, it seems highly irresponsible to me producing a food which consists purely of something which can make some people double up in pain.
So if you are one of we unlucky gluten sensitive souls, please decline Seitan if you are ever offered it! It sounds truly the work of Satan!
Katrina is a kinesiologist based in Newcastle upon Tyne.